Vermont Senate Redistricting and Jericho, Underhill, Bolton, Richmond and Huntington

- 1. Every ten years (following the US Census) the State of Vermont adjusts legislative districts to reflect changes in population. The process is driven by population and ultimately political considerations.
- 2. The first step in the process is conducted by Vermont Legislative Apportionment Board which is chaired by Tom Little from Shelburne. The board recommends House and Senate districts based on population, community, and cultural connections. These recommendations go the legislature for approval in 2022. The legislature debates the proposed boundaries and often makes changes before voting.
- 3. This decennium is particularly important for Chittenden County. A new law limits Senate districts to no more than three seats. Chittenden County now has population enough to justify seven Senate seats and will be divided into new districts with no district having more than three seats.
- 4. Currently Jericho, Underhill, Bolton and Richmond are in the six seat Chittenden Senate district and Huntington is in the two seat Addison County Senate district. We want to end this division.
- 5. Our five towns run the MMUUSD schools together and have many shared interests. We feel we will get better representation if our towns are in the same Senate district.
- 6. The Huntington Selectboard is in favor of asking the Vermont Legislative Apportionment Board to put Huntington in a Senate district with Richmond, Bolton, Jericho and Underhill thus putting all MMU towns in the same Senate district (We don't think our five towns need their own Senate district, more that we should be in the same district, a district which might also include the CVU towns or Essex/Westford).
- 7. We ask that you support Huntington's request with a letter to the Vermont Legislative Apportionment Board that Huntington, Richmond, Bolton, Jericho, Underhill be assigned to the same Senate district.
- 8. Letters should come from both the Selectboard and the Board of Civil Authority. Input from the town Board of Civil Authority is given extra weight in statute.

Communications should be directed to:

Tom Little, Special Master Vermont Legislative Apportionment Board C/O VSAC P.O. Box 2000 Winooski, Vermont 05404

(802) 654-3747 Cell: (802) 238-4989 tom.little@partner.vermont.gov